History

Our municipality was amalgamated in 1975 from two historic County townships, Blandford and Blenheim.

Read more about the origin of the names of the villages in our township.

Plattsville

Drumbo
Princeton

Tobacco Barns

The History of Blenheim

The following essay was written by Norman Peat from Ratho in the early 1930’s, as part of an essay contest for the County of Oxford. This winning essay was published in the Woodstock Newspaper. The essay is interesting in the fact that being written in the early 1930’s, Blenheim Township was less than a century old at the time, therefore the information contained in the essay was relatively recent news.

Norman was born on January 8th, 1916 to Wallace and Maggie Peat (nee Hogarth). Maggie passed away very shortly after Norman’s birth and was raised by his Father, as well as the Hogarth family, particularly his Maiden Aunts, Anna and Jean. Norman was the apple of his Aunt’s eyes and did very well in school. Norman enlisted in the 2nd World War and was reported missing on May 27th, 1943 while serving with an Air Sea Rescue Squadron. At the time of his demise he was trying to rescue another pilot near the Galite Islands in the Mediterranean Sea.

Read the prize winning history in Blenheim essay

Township Staff
Chief Building Official
John Scherer
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 230
Fax: 519-463-5881
Email: jscherer@ezt.ca
Deputy Chief Building Official
Robert Kelly
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 228
Fax: 519-463-5881
Building Inspector / Property Standards Enforcement Officer
Kate Jancsar
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 229
Fax: 519-463-5881
Email: kjancsar@blandfordblenheim.ca
 
Planner
Rebecca Smith
Phone: 519-539-9800 ex 3211
Email: rsmith@oxfordcounty.ca
 
Drainage Superintendent
Jim Harmer
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 233
Fax: 519-463-5881
Email: jharmer@blandfordblenheim.ca
 
CAO/Clerk
Rodger Mordue
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 227
Fax: 519-463-5881
Email: rmordue@blandfordblenheim.ca
 
Deputy Clerk
Sarah Matheson
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 222
Fax: 519-463-5881
Email: smatheson@blandfordblenheim.ca
 
Customer Service Clerk
Danielle Clayton
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 221
Fax: 519-463-5881
Email: dclayton@blandfordblenheim.ca
 
Director of Finance/Treasurer
Denise Krug
Treasury, Budgeting, Financial Reporting & Planning
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 224
Fax: 519-463-5881
Email: dkrug@blandfordblenheim.ca
Deputy Treasurer/Revenue Co-ordinator
Katie Koski
Accounts Receivable, Payroll, Property Tax Administrator
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 225
Fax: 519-463-5881
Email: kkoski@blandfordblenheim.ca
 
Finance Clerk
Michelle VanWyk
Customer Service, Property Tax Inquiries, Accounts Payable
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 232
Fax: 519-463-5881
Email: mvanwyk@blandfordblenheim.ca
 
Director of Protective Services
Fire Chief
Rick Richardson
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 223
Fax: 519-463-5881
Email: rrichardson@blandfordblenheim.ca
 
Director of Public Works
Gary Crandall
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 226
Fax: 519-463-5881
Email: gcrandall@blandfordblenheim.ca
 
Road Supervisor
Jim Borton
Drumbo Shop: 519-463-5389
email: roads@blandfordblenheim.ca
Manager of Community Services
Ken Wood
Administration, Management, Project Planning
Phone: 519-684-7482
Fax: 519-684-6886
Email: kwood@blandfordblenheim.ca
 
Facility Operations Lead Hand
Trevor Baer
Arena Contact, Maintenance Lead
Phone: 519-684-7482
Fax: 519-684-6886
facility@blandfordblenheim.ca
Deputy Clerk
Sarah Matheson
Facility Booking Clerk, Program Invoicing
Phone: 519-463-5347
Fax: 519-463-5881
smatheson@blandfordblenheim.ca