Property Taxes

property taxes

Municipal Taxes

Your taxes provide the following services:

  • Police protection
  • Fire protection and prevention emergency services
  • Construction and maintenance of roads and sidewalks
  • Bridges and culverts
  • Municipal drains
  • By-law enforcement and property stands
  • Building permits and inspections
  • Animal Control
  • Planning and Zoning services
  • Recreation facilities – Arena/Parks/Pavilions/Community Centres
  • Emergency planning
  • Licenses and permits
  • Cemeteries

Tax Rates

Property taxes collected by the municipality include rates for the upper tier, the lower tier, and for education.

For more information about your property tax rate:

2017 Tax Rates

2017 Tax Rate By-law & Summary

2016 Tax Rates

2016 Tax Rate By-law & Summary

Calculation of Property Taxes

Interim Tax Bills are the first property tax bills of the year and are based on your prior year’s annualized taxes. Interim billings are calculated as 50% of the prior’s year’s annualized total tax billing spread out over the 2 payments.

Final Tax Bills are the second property tax bills of the year and are calculated as follows:

  • Assessment x Property Tax Rate = Total Property Taxes for the Year
  • Final Billing ** = Total Taxes – Interim Billing (this is split over the final 2 payment dates)

** Please note that Commercial, Industrial and Multi-Residential Taxes are subject to capping calculations.
** Final Billings will also include any area-rating and local improvement charges for the full year.

Property Tax Assessment

All properties in Ontario are assessed by the Municipal Property Assessment Corporation (MPAC), using current market valuation. MPAC is an independent, not-for-profit corporation funded by all Ontario municipalities whose role is to accurately value and classify all properties in Ontario according to the Assessment Act and regulations established by the Ontario Government. Properties are assessed every four years and assessment values are phased in over a four year period. For information about changes to your property assessment, visit AboutMyProperty. To change the direction of school support for the education portion of your property taxes, complete the Application for Direction of School Support. If you have any questions, please contact your local school board,

2017 Township of Blandford-Blenheim Cost by Department

Tax Due Dates

Instalments

1st - Last business day of February
2nd – Last business day of May
3rd – Last business day of August
4th – Last business day of October

Property Tax Payment Options

Payments can be made by telephone or internet banking, by mail, in person at our office (8:30 – 4:30 Monday to Friday, by cheque, cash or debit) or in our after-hours drop box. Payments may also be made at the Bank of Montreal, Drumbo Branch. You have the option of signing up for one of twoPre-authorized Payment Plans. Additional information about the Pre-authorized Payment Plan is available here.

You also have the option of signing up for E-post to receive your tax bill electronically.

Property Tax Estimator

Township Staff
Chief Building Official
John Scherer
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 230
Fax: 519-463-5881
Email: jscherer@ezt.ca
Deputy Chief Building Official
Robert Kelly
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 228
Fax: 519-463-5881
Building Inspector / Property Standards Enforcement Officer
Kate Jancsar
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 229
Fax: 519-463-5881
Email: kjancsar@blandfordblenheim.ca
 
Planner
Rebecca Smith
Phone: 519-539-9800 ex 3211
Email: rsmith@oxfordcounty.ca
 
Drainage Superintendent
Jim Harmer
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 233
Fax: 519-463-5881
Email: jharmer@blandfordblenheim.ca
 
CAO/Clerk
Rodger Mordue
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 227
Fax: 519-463-5881
Email: rmordue@blandfordblenheim.ca
 
Deputy Clerk
Sarah Matheson
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 222
Fax: 519-463-5881
Email: smatheson@blandfordblenheim.ca
 

 
Director of Finance/Treasurer
Denise Krug
Treasury, Budgeting, Financial Reporting & Planning
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 224
Fax: 519-463-5881
Email: dkrug@blandfordblenheim.ca
Deputy Treasurer/Revenue Co-ordinator
Katie Koski
Accounts Receivable, Payroll, Property Tax Administrator
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 225
Fax: 519-463-5881
Email: kkoski@blandfordblenheim.ca
Finance/ Customer Service Clerk
Pamela Kent
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 221
Fax: 519-463-5881
Email:pkent@blandfordblenheim.ca
 

 
Director of Protective Services
Fire Chief
Rick Richardson
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 223
Fax: 519-463-5881
Email: rrichardson@blandfordblenheim.ca
 
Protective Services Administrator
Michelle VanWyk
Protective Services Administration / CEMC
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 232
Fax: 519-463-5881
Email: mvanwyk@blandfordblenheim.ca
Director of Public Works
Jim Borton
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 226
Fax: 519-463-5881
Email: jborton@blandfordblenheim.ca
 
Road Supervisor
Ryan Nechelput
Drumbo Shop: 519-463-5389
email: roads@blandfordblenheim.ca
Manager of Community Services
Ken Wood
Administration, Management, Project Planning
Phone: 519-684-7482
Fax: 519-684-6886
Email: kwood@blandfordblenheim.ca
 
Facility Operations Lead Hand
Trevor Baer
Arena Contact, Maintenance Lead
Phone: 519-684-7482
Fax: 519-684-6886
facility@blandfordblenheim.ca