Parks & Recreation

The Township of Blandford-Blenheim envisions the purpose of the Community Services Department to be:

The ongoing creation and preservation of a Health, Enthusiastic, and Engaged Community, ever guided in all endeavours by the principals of:

  • Sustainability
  • Inclusivity
  • Diversity
  • Quality

It is recommended that these 4 principles, (sustainability, inclusivity, diversity, and quality) become the directing values and criteria to meet when making decisions.

Parks and Recreation Master Plan

The creation of a Parks & Recreation Master Plan is a planning exercise that will assist with identifying the wishes of residents as they relate to the future direction of the services of Parks & Recreation. Recreation is an all-encompassing, ever-evolving part of our culture and lifestyle. It is important for our Community to have an opportunity to review the direction of the services of Parks & Recreation and to make recommendations for future development.

Please continue to check back regularly for updates and important information regarding the progress of the Parks & Recreation Master Plan.

Cycling


The Township has a cycling route that takes you throughout the Villages of the Township as well as our amenities. Feel free to contact is if you are part of a group cycling through any village and require use of washroom facilities. Please contact us a week in advance for such requests.

Ride Oxford Cycling Trail Map
Ride Oxford Blandford-Blenheim Map
Ride Oxford Cycling

Cycling In Blandford-Blenheiml

Trails


Chesney Wilderness Trail

The Chesney Wilderness Area Trail is a 93 hectare (230 acre) natural area. The path begins at a parking lot where there is an information kiosk with a map. The trail has a hard earth surface with occasional tree roots, and there is also a section of boardwalk. Only walking and skiing are allowed on this trail. This is a 2 kilometre trail having one large loop called the Maple Trail and one small loop called the Hemlock Trail.

View the Trail

View the Trails Master Plan

Canoeing & Kayaking


The Township has about 55km of the Nith River winding throughout the countryside. Currently there are canoe and kayak access points located on the south side of the bridge on Oxford County Road 42 south of Plattsville and on the north side of County Road 29 across from the east entrance of Clarks Road. As the river goes through high and low water levels throughout the year caution should be taken by the canoeists at all times while planning their trip.

The Nith River
Township Staff
Chief Building Official
John Scherer
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 230
Fax: 519-463-5881
Email: jscherer@ezt.ca
Deputy Chief Building Official
Robert Kelly
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 228
Fax: 519-463-5881
Building Inspector / Property Standards Enforcement Officer
Kate Jancsar
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 229
Fax: 519-463-5881
Email: kjancsar@blandfordblenheim.ca
 
Planner
Rebecca Smith
Phone: 519-539-9800 ex 3211
Email: rsmith@oxfordcounty.ca
 
Drainage Superintendent
Jim Harmer
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 233
Fax: 519-463-5881
Email: jharmer@blandfordblenheim.ca
 
CAO/Clerk
Rodger Mordue
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 227
Fax: 519-463-5881
Email: rmordue@blandfordblenheim.ca
 
Deputy Clerk
Sarah Matheson
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 222
Fax: 519-463-5881
Email: smatheson@blandfordblenheim.ca
 
Customer Service Clerk
Danielle Clayton
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 221
Fax: 519-463-5881
Email: dclayton@blandfordblenheim.ca
 
Director of Finance/Treasurer
Denise Krug
Treasury, Budgeting, Financial Reporting & Planning
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 224
Fax: 519-463-5881
Email: dkrug@blandfordblenheim.ca
Deputy Treasurer/Revenue Co-ordinator
Katie Koski
Accounts Receivable, Payroll, Property Tax Administrator
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 225
Fax: 519-463-5881
Email: kkoski@blandfordblenheim.ca
 
Finance Clerk
Michelle VanWyk
Customer Service, Property Tax Inquiries, Accounts Payable
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 232
Fax: 519-463-5881
Email: mvanwyk@blandfordblenheim.ca
 
Director of Protective Services
Fire Chief
Rick Richardson
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 223
Fax: 519-463-5881
Email: rrichardson@blandfordblenheim.ca
 
Director of Public Works
Gary Crandall
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 226
Fax: 519-463-5881
Email: gcrandall@blandfordblenheim.ca
 
Road Supervisor
Jim Borton
Drumbo Shop: 519-463-5389
email: roads@blandfordblenheim.ca
Manager of Community Services
Ken Wood
Administration, Management, Project Planning
Phone: 519-684-7482
Fax: 519-684-6886
Email: kwood@blandfordblenheim.ca
 
Facility Operations Lead Hand
Trevor Baer
Arena Contact, Maintenance Lead
Phone: 519-684-7482
Fax: 519-684-6886
facility@blandfordblenheim.ca
Deputy Clerk
Sarah Matheson
Facility Booking Clerk, Program Invoicing
Phone: 519-463-5347
Fax: 519-463-5881
smatheson@blandfordblenheim.ca